sidepopla.blogg.se

Westworld season 1 film
Westworld season 1 film






westworld season 1 film
  1. #Westworld season 1 film series#
  2. #Westworld season 1 film free#

It reminds me of Joss Whedon’s Dollhouse when they finally reveal what the true purpose of everything is and what’s in the attic. I figured his storyline would be done in season 1, where we saw his obsession with Westworld begin and continue into his old age when he’s played by Ed Harris ( A History of Violence), but clearly William’s obsession goes far deeper than gun fights and prostitution and to see him explore the broader implications of this technology existing is one of the more compelling aspects of the story. I was thrilled to see Jimmi Simpson ( House of Cards) return as young William.

#Westworld season 1 film series#

It feels right now like the series is building to a series of twist endings launching us into season 3 but just because a twist isn’t predictable, that doesn’t inherently make it good. Season 2 is just a mess so far and I hope it all comes together and makes sense, but if your audience can’t track the different storylines from episode to episode and doesn’t understand the characters’ actions and motivations, then they’re going to eventually stop trying and stop watching. There have been some interesting developments in that storyline and right now it’s the only thing making me want to finish the season, but at least season 1 had a fluid structure that revealed interesting things in interesting ways. Meanwhile Bernard (Jeffrey Wright Angels in America) and Elsie (Shannon Woodward Raising Hope) are trying to uncover some plot by the Westworld parent corporation to use hosts to serve as replacement bodies for living people, who can then live forever. Dolores (Evan Rachel Wood Thirteen) is building an army to hold down some sovereign part of Westworld because of reasons, while Maeve (Thandie Newton Mission: Impossible II) and her heightened security clearance acquired in season 1 are working to possibly escape Westworld and the surrounding facilities and find freedom in the real world, or they’re trying to find her daughter? Or just wreaking havoc? It’s unclear. I haven’t finished the season, but it’s unclear to me what the hosts are hoping to accomplish. Season 2 feels like there’s just not enough story to be told between their decided beginning and end points. It’s definitely not as strong as season 1 because after a great premiere it tapers off pretty quickly and starts the familiar dragging out of story lines that worked okay in season 1 to build tension toward the inevitable uprising of these robots. I was concerned that I hadn’t heard the same amount of hype for the second season, which told me that maybe others had started to lose interest and drop off from the show.

westworld season 1 film

I found it pretty boring overall that the possibilities of this world were never explored beyond endless gunfights and prostitution, but the finale gave me what I had been waiting for and the robots rose up and started to kill their human oppressors and I was ready for season 2 with a passion.Īgain, I couldn’t watch season 2 as it aired and had to wait to use a friend’s account or get a copy to review, which clearly did happen. Some interesting things happen throughout the first season and the way the series plays with time and structure was really exciting, but at the end of the day, this was a series about rich white people being rich and white and playing an extremely detailed LARP with no consequences.

westworld season 1 film

Unfortunately, we don’t get any rebellion until the end of season 1, setting up the main conflict of season 2 here. I don’t remember under what circumstances I was able to watch the series, but when I finally did, I was blown away by the pilot, and even though the hosts didn’t begin their rebellion at the end of the first episode like I anticipated, the tension was ripe and I was sure it was going to happen at any moment.

#Westworld season 1 film free#

I didn’t have an HBO subscription at the time so I waited patiently until I could get a free weekend or use a friend’s account or review it for the website. Everyone was telling me how thrilling it was and how I needed to check it out as soon as possible.

westworld season 1 film

When Westworld came along on HBO, it was an immediate cultural phenomenon.








Westworld season 1 film